Winter Convention Season Part One


Winter Convention Season, is an interesting time for many people.

And it really depends on what you specialize in during conventions. Gamers, Live Viedo Roomers (Those who like to watch anime and movies in the live video rooms), Manga Cafes and just overall otakus who don’t do much don’t have a whole lot to worry about during the winter. In fact for them, winter convention season is the perfect blend of indoor fun activities, and socializing with others is perfect.

But for vendors, artists, cosplayers and panelists, it’s a little more a time of experimenting as well as trying new things. For most in this catergory, this time of year is more stressful than the height of convention season which is from May to September. This is the time of year where we take chances and risks and try new things. It’s also low time of year on the financials as well.

And with car issues on top, the stress level is officially maxed out to the intense levels. I know I’ve got wonderful friends and family who will help me out and get me where I need to go, but I would rather not have to deal with that issue. Tommrrow is judgement day on my car. I’m just asking God to keep it within a reasonable price or may it be something that I can hold off until after AOD over. I am reminded as to why I am more stressed out during winter convention season than during the summer. It’s mainly because life happens on a much grander scale for me during the winter convention season that during the summer season. 

It’s just not as easy as people think. Especially when you kinda live two lives, where the one life is a professionally normal with no sense of change, and the other life is nothing but constant change and new ideas. It’s rather exhausting, but this is one of those moments in otakudom where it is incredibly stressful. But I have hope that things are going to work themsleves out. But it’s going to be a long haul.

I just have to finish my powerpoints. ARGH… Just one powepoint takes HOURS. Especially since I’m an epic perfectionist as well. So it’s just OMG, I’m so tired.

I’m going to bed now. The work continues tommrrow.

Leave a Reply

