A Letter From Harry Potter


My dearest friends, family and fans:

On Friday, the final movie of my story Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows, will be released to the public for viewing. When the final credits run, this will be the end of my long journey to the peace and happiness that I have today.

It only still seems like yesterday, that I began my journey to free myself from oppression and suffering at the hands of Lord Voldemort. Many days, I still wake up, wondering if I’m in the downstairs closet again. But life has been very kind to me since the now historic “Battle at Hogwarts”.

I am now happily married to Ginny (sorry to those who were rooting for Herminone or Cho.) with three wonderful children, James, Albus Severus, and Lily. Two of them are now students at Hogwarts themselves (Both Gryffindors’s of course.) As for Ron, he married Hermione and they had two children, Rose and Hugo. (Also Gryffindors as well.) I am also the proud godfather of my late and great friend, Remus Lupin’s son, Teddy. (Crazy little Gryffindor, but wouldn’t trade him at all.) I am also now the uncle of 3 other nephews and nieces. All of whom make me so happy and are my prides and joys.

Work has also been quite a challenge but amazing experience. I had always dreamt of becoming an Auror and catching bad wizards and witches. Shortly after the Battle of Hogwarts, and completing a few courses that I needed in order to qualify, I became an Auror and in 2007, I became the head of the Auror Department for the Department of Magic. It’s as if a dream had come true. Minus the paperwork.

But for many of you, my story has been an integral part of your life. I have received many pictures and stories of happy times that you have shared, thanks to my story. I have received many letters of those whom have shared my isolation and grief during the dark times of their lives and many letters with thanks from readers as well whom have benefited from my tale in not giving up and always doing what is right. All of these letters and wishes, affirmed in me, that I made the correct decision in sharing my life story with you. (Even though in certain cases, I was violating many wizarding laws, which of course I received permission from both the Department of Magic and the International Confederation of Witches and Wizards)

At 30 years of age, to know that my story has made a difference in many people’s lives for the good, is the greatest reward I could have ever asked for. As I am turning 31,  I understand that for many of you, this is the end of a season in your life. For many of you, were young and grew up in age along with me as you read my story. I encourage you to not only continue to read more stories like my own, but read about those closest to you. Learn the stories of your personal past as well as other well known people like me. Don’t ever be afraid to dream and don’t be afraid to write and share your own story. You never know whose life you may empower or change for the good as well.

I myself, thank JK Rowling, for making my world even more realistic than even I could have imagined. She crafted my tale with such respect and honor to all the people involved, that I am forever in her debt. I also thank Daniel Radcliffe and all the actors of the Harry Potter films , for portraying us all so well that it was almost scary. All those who were involved in taking my story to the masses, I am so grateful to all of you for your hard work and time in making it a reality.

Although my story comes to an end, I wish all of you to remember that there is nothing wrong in doing the right thing. It may be hard, and it may make you feel weary, but in the end the right thing is always worth the struggle. By doing good, you are preparing yourself for good things to come your way as well. I thank each and every one of you, for sharing your time and your lives, with me and my family. Sharing my story wasn’t always easy, and there are still moments that make me sad and full of longing, but in the end, I do not regret for one moment sharing my story. If I were asked to do it again, I would do it in a heartbeat.

So now I go on with my life, forever changed and forever humbled by all of you. From my entire family, I thank you for your love, support and companionship these many years. I wish you all the best as you journey in your lives.

Thank you, all of you.

With eternal warmest regards,
Harry James Potter

Leave a Reply

